top of page

Let Me Tell You About Stephen King and Myself

Now, I can't tell you when when I began to love horror, and I can't tell you exactly how it came to be. But, what I can tell you, is a little bit about a memory. This memory took place when I was in 7th grade. I was a little kid still, living with my mother at my grandmothers house. I went through quiet the little phase where I made my mom stand outside the bathroom while I took a show. This phase lasted for about a month. Strange? Not when you're convinced that there is a killer clown that plans to climb out of the drain and drag you down into the sewer. If Pennywise came to mind then you're right on par.

This phase took place right after I watched Stephen King's "IT" for the first time and boy, oh boy, did I have the worst time trying to function after that. I couldn't sleep alone, shower alone, do anything alone. I mean, c'mon, did you see the teeth on that clown? "When you're down here, you'll float too!". No Pennywise, I don't want to float. Anyway, it's safe to say I was pretty messed up after all that. Pennywise was terrifying.

Eventually the fear faded away and life went back to normal. I could shower without my mother sitting outside to make sure I didn't get pulled into the drain and sleeping became a normal activity again. So what did I do, then? I watched IT again. Yep. I had to. I don't know why, but I wanted that fear in my again. I loved it. I mean, I hated it at first, but then I loved it. I still love it. I love getting freaked out and feel honored when a movie convinces me to turn on the lights. So, here I am today, about 10 years later looking back at that scene in a movie that sent chills down my spine. That's about as early back as I can remember when it comes to horror specifically. All I can say now is thank you. Thank you Pennywise and thank you Mr. King for scaring me into loving horror. Thank you.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page